Delish Homemade Nutella

chocolate, homemade, dessert, spread

Hazelnut Spread

Spreadable chocolate, I’m in!

I made this “Better Than Nutella” chocolate hazelnut spread as holiday gifts this year and it was a hit. I used a recent Bon Appetit recipe and it didn’t disappoint. I bought some cute, clear Pyrex bowls with lids from Target and even created my own label via Online Label’s label designer for the top to personalize it.

Homemade Label

Homemade Label

Beware this is NOT low fat, but makes a great gift.

Makes About 4 Cups:

INGREDIENTS:

2 cups (heaping) hazelnuts, preferably skinned (about 10 ounces) — skinned really saves time!

1/4 cup sugar

1 pound semisweet or bittersweet chocolate, coarsely chopped (I used semi-sweet)

1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, cut into 1-inch pieces, room temperature

1 cup heavy cream

3/4 teaspoon kosher salt

PREPARATION:

Preheat oven to 350°. Spread out nuts on a rimmed baking sheet or in an ovenproof skillet. Roast, shaking sheet once for even toasting, until deep brown, 13-15 minutes. Let cool completely. (If nuts have skins, rub them in a kitchen towel to remove.)

Grind hazelnuts and sugar in a food processor until a fairly smooth, buttery paste forms, about 1 minute.

Place chocolate in a medium metal bowl. Set bowl over a large saucepan of simmering water; stir often until chocolate is melted and smooth. Remove bowl from over saucepan; add butter and whisk until completely incorporated. Whisk in cream and salt, then hazelnut paste.

Pour gianduja into glass jars, dividing equally. Let cool. (Gianduja will thicken and become soft and peanut butter-like as it cools.) Screw on lids. DO AHEAD Gianduja can be made up to 4 weeks ahead; keep chilled. Let stand at room temperature for 4 hours to soften. Can stand at room temperature up to 4 days.

One thought on “Delish Homemade Nutella

  1. Hi Mary….first of all thank you for coming to my blog and cotemnming. I appreciate it more than you know. This fudge looks wonderful. I make a similar one but have never put nutella or hazelnuts in it. My children love nutella so I am going to have to try this. I know they will love it.Also I love your photo of your one bite header. Beautiful and it catches your eye. And I like how you have put recipes from a year ago and two years ago at the end of your post. Being a new blogger I am looking for ways to make my blog better. And I think this is good. So in a year I may do that. I haven’t been able to do my own headers yet, (my daughter has had to really help me with it) because I’m still learning to get around blogger. But yours is really great. You are a pro!!Nann

What do you think?

